It was JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider Leon Haslam who took the victory in race one of round 10 at Oulton Park from John Hopkins and Josh Brookes.

It was a disaster of a start from pole sitter Jake Dixon – RAF Regulars and Reserves Kawasaki- who had to start the race from pit lane due an incident in the warm-up meaning his bike wasn’t ready in time for the race start. However, this gave Dan Linfoot an empty space in front of which allowed him to take his Honda machine to the front of the pack when the race got started. With Linfoot leading, it was Josh Brookes- Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha- in second place and Shane Byrne- Be Wiser Ducati- in third.

However, it wasn’t long before Smiths Racing BMW rider Peter Hickman was fighting Byrne for the third place position. At the start of lap 2, Hickman had taken third, but Byrne was closing him down yet again. Still leading the race, Linfoot now had a +4s lead over Brookes but it once it wasn’t long before Hickman moved up into second place.

On lap 4 of the 18 lap race, Christian Iddon – Tyco BMW – had moved into second place after passing the Be Wiser Ducati machine of Shane Byrne. On lap 5, the second JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider- Luke Mossey- retired into pit lane and Bennetts Suzuki rider- Sylvain Guintoli had crashed out.

Mossey was forced to retire from the race due to his injury. Photo: Anna Dickens
Sylvain Guintoli also fell victim to the gravel trap. Photo: Anna Dickens

Dixon, still fighting his way through the pack, had moved into 10th position on lap 10 of the race with Iddon crashing out from 2nd place with his Tyco BMW machine. On lap 13, it was Haslam in second place meaning he now had the championship lead.

It was heartbreak for Dan Linfoot and the Honda Racing team as his engine blew meaning the race lead was handed to Leon Haslam with Hopkins and Brookes behind him. Due to oil from Linfoot’s crash, the race was red flagged meaning the race win went to Leon Haslam and the JG Speedfit Kawasaki team. It was Hopkins- Moto Rapido Ducati- who took the second step on the podium with Josh Brookes in third. But, the ride of the race had to go to Jake Dixon who fought his way from the back of the pack to fourth place on his Kawasaki machine.

The fastest lap of race one went to Jake Dixon and his RAF Regular and Reserve Kawasaki with a time of 1:44.970s on the final lap of the race.

Dixon set the fastest lap of the race. Photo: Anna Dickens

Results (top 5):

1. Leon Haslam –JG Speedfit Kawasaki- 25:08.727

2. John Hopkins- Moto Rapido Ducati- +0.314s

3. Josh Brookes- Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha- +9.690

4. Jake Dixon – RAF Regular and Reserve Kawasaki- +11.464

5. James Ellison – McAMS Yamaha- +12.369