With only 7 riders left at the end of the race, it was Dan Linfoot’s turn in race three to take his maiden win in the MCE British Superbikes Championship, in the final race of the weekend at the Silverstone circuit.

It was yet another disaster for Leon Haslam – JG Speedfit Kawasaki- who got didn’t make the start of the final race due to problems with his bike on the grid, meaning he didn’t make it in time for the start of the race.

It was James Ellison – McAMS Yamaha- who was starting the final MCE British Superbikes race of the weekend on pole, with Shane Byrne in second and Bradley Ray in third. It was heartbreak for Jason O’Halloran- Honda Racing- who fell off on lap 1 of the race after starting from 6th place on the grid.

After pole man James Ellison crashed out on lap three of the race, it was Shane Byrne in first, Josh Brookes in second and Peter Hickman in third. However, it was only one lap later when second place man Brookes crashed out at the at the end of lap three.

It wasn’t long before both Laverty, Hickman and Iddon were battling it out for third and fourth place whilst Linfoot was closing in on Byrne. The riders started dropping like flies with the likes of Sylvain Guintoli, Shane Byrne, Luke Mossey, Dean Harrison, and Glenn Irwin crashing out on laps 6 and 7. On lap 8, Tommy Bridewell crashed out giving Jake Dixon third place, as well as Christian Iddon – Tyco BMW – also crashing out securing Dixon’s place in the showdown six.

On the tenth lap (two thirds race distance) of the race, the red flags came out as the only 7 riders were left in the race giving Dan Linfoot – Honda Racin g- his debut win in the class with Michael Laverty – McAMS Yamaha – in second and Jake Dixon – RAF Regulars and Reserves Kawasaki – taking the final step on the podium, as well becoming the youngest rider to be in the showdown six.

Results (top 5):

1. Dan Linfoot – Honda Racing – 22:50.725

2. Michael Laverty – McAMS Yamaha – +4.115s

3. Jake Dixon – RAF Regulars and Reserves Kawasaki – +20.423

4. James Westmoreland – Gearlink Kawasaki – +1 lap

5. Jakub Smrz – Lloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW – + 1 lap

Championship standings after round 9 (top 6) :

1. Shane Byrne – Be Wiser Ducati – 235pts

2. Josh Brookes – Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha – 212pts

3. Leon Haslam – JG Speedfit Kawasaki – 209pts

4. Peter Hickman – Smiths Racing BMW – 208pts

5. Jason O’Halloran – Honda Racing – 194pts

6. Jake Dixon – RAF Regular and Reserves Kawasaki – 192 pts