The who, what and when of the 2017 International North West 200 Road Races.


With five of the main men switching to new teams for this season, the competition is hotter than ever.

William Dunlop- William – the former Superbike and Supersport North West 200 winner – will be riding the brand new Caffery liveried Yamaha R6. Will is keeping his fingers crossed in the hope that his new bike will be his best chance of success in May.

Michael Dunlop- Michael – the North West 200 outright lap record holder – will make his road race debut on his new GSXR1000 Bennetts Suzuki against the likes of John McGuinness and Guy Martin. The youngest of the Dunlop brothers has been victorious four times on the 8.9 mile track with his latest being last year on the Hawk BMW.

Lee ‘the general’ Johnston- At this year’s North West 200 Johnston, the three times North West 200 winner will be climbing aboard the KMS ER6 650 Kawasaki with the former North West 200 winner Ryan Farquhar as his team boss. The bike will don a red livery in aid of the Northern Ireland Air Ambulance.

Peter Hickman- For the 2017 season, Hickman has teamed up with Smiths BMW and will debut his new S1000RR at the North West 200. In 2014 Hickman was became the fastest ever newcomer and claimed his first podium with a 2nd in the Spidi Superstock race last year.

Guy Martin- The North West 200 will be Martin’s debut on his new CBR1000RR SP2 Honda Fireblade with McGuinness as his team mate. In his previous years at the North West 200 he has had 6 podium finishes but he is yet to claim the top step.


At the International North West 200 Road Races, there are four different classes.

Superbike- For the Superbikes, there are two races on race day and some of the past winners are: Joey and Robert Dunlop and Carl Fogarty. The lap record for a Superbike was 4mins 22.095 seconds and was taken by Michael Dunlop in 2016 on his BMW.

Superstock- The Superstock bikes feature only minor modifications and some of the past winners are: Alastair Seeley, Bruce Anstey and Keith Amor. Ian Hutchinson took the lap record on his BMW in 2016 with a lap time of 4minutes 34.045 seconds.

Supersport- Supersport bikes are road-going production based machines and the lap record was taken by Alastair Seeley on his Kawasaki in 2016 with a lap of 4mins 34.045

Supertwin- The Supertwin bikes are twin cylinder machines that are sold for road use with a water cooled engine of up to 650cc. In 2016, Ivan Linton took the lap record of 4mins 55.434 seconds onboard his Kawasaki.


Tuesday 9th May – practice – 9.15am-3.00pm

Thursday 11th May – practice – 9.15am-3.00pm

Thursday 11th May – evening racing – 5.00-9.00pm

Saturday 13th May – race day – 9:15am-7.00pm